itapun

Rubik's Cube

Rubik's cube While my wife and I were preparing Christmas presents for our children in 2023, she asked me what I wanted for myself and I half-jokingly said I wanted a Rubik's cube. Well, Santa brought me a Rubik's cube after all and I had a lot of fun learning how to solve it during the weeks following Christmas.

I had a Rubik's cube when I was a kid and at one point I followed a guide to learn how to solve it but I was never able to memorize any of the algorithms as a kid, and I definitely don't remember any of them, so as an adult I was able to make a serious attempt at solving it on my own without outside help. I was able to solve the first two layers of the cube and arrange some of the final layer into it's proper orientation, but ultimately I could not complete it on my own and I had to learn some algorithms in order to finish it.

After learning all of the steps I started to figure out shortcuts to solve it faster each time. Currently my record is 1 minute and 29 seconds; perhaps it would sound more impressive if I start telling people that I can do it in under 90 seconds (lol).