itapun

Retro Design Trends

calculator

Technology changes. As time goes on, the designs and aesthetics that surround us in every day life continue to change. I enjoy some of the design trends from just about every era, but when it comes to technology in particular I enjoy the designs that were popular in the 1980s. I like the chunky mechanical buttons that were present on everything from boomboxes to VCR's and answering machines. I like that portable devices like the Game Boy or the various iterations of the Walkman from that era were all rather hefty and fit well in the hands of an adult. I could go on, but I think you get the picture.

That being said, recently I have been in the market for a calculator. Of course my iPhone has a calculator built in, but I find it rather annoying to use because oftentimes when I need a calculator I usually have to reference information in a webpage or another app that I'm using, and this causes me to have to constantly flip back and forth between the app in question and the calculator app - quite frankly it's just annoying and a physical calculator would solve all of my problems.

The calculators of my childhood were sleek and had rubber buttons. They were usually solar-powered, as well. There's nothing wrong with such a device, but I recently fell down the rabbit hole of pocket calculators from the 1980s and I feel that the design aesthetics of the era helped to make more satisfying calculators than what was available during my childhood. In fact, the ones from my childhood almost seem like a step backwards with the only real potential benefit being solar power!

The device I picked up is a Casio Memory-8A electronic calculator. It is powered by 2 AA batteries and features an illuminated screen, the buttons are satisfying to push, and it includes a leather slip case. The thickness and weight of the device also make it feel more satisfying than the cheap slim calculators of my childhood.

It feels so silly to gush over a pocket calculator, but I really am satisfied with the unit.

And best of all, I can relive some of my childhood immaturity!

boobies