itapun

What's New Is Old

mister

A few years ago I acquired an MSX2 PC. It's an old 8bit computer from the 1980s, and unfortunately the model that I acquired was defective so I parted with it nearly as quickly as I acquired it, but I enjoyed messing around with such an old PC. So-called "wedge" computers were popular during that era. Almost all MSX models use the wedge form factor, as did many other retro PC's like the Commodore 64 (well, that one is more like a breadbox, but it's the same concept).

I really like the wedge concept; the whole system being contained inside of a chunky keyboard with mechanical keys is just such a fun idea. And thus, I was disappointed to part ways with the MSX.

I have a MiSTer FPGA. I originally purchased it just for arcade games, but there are cores for many other retro platforms including a variety of old computers. Recently I have been dabbling with some of the computer cores and it has been a real joy of an experience. There are a lot of fun games worth checking out via the MSX core, and the Commodore 64 core has a built in modem which can be used for dialing into BBS servers. BBS is sort of a new fascination for me, and I'm having a lot of fun with posting on those right now.

FPGA cores (hardware emulation) are much more accurate than software emulation, but do you know what would make the experience even more accurate? Using the same form factor! I 3D printed a wedge case for my MiSTer and gathered some necessary parts for routing some of the connections to the back panel. I finally assembled it today, and I love how it turned out! The first thing I did after I finished assembling it was dial into my favorite BBS via the Commodore 64 core, and then I played Metal Gear from the MSX core. The MiSTer is such an excellent value, and I feel that the wedge form factor brings a lot to the experience.

The photo at the top of this post is the completed build before I added the top plate. If you are interested in using this same case, the STL files are available for free on Printables.com and it was designed by the user "Retro Frog".