itapun

Introducing my son to Minecraft

chicken-house

I used to play a lot of Minecraft about a decade-or-so ago. My eldest son is 5 years old and I figured that now is probably a good time to introduce him to the game. It seems I was right, too. He had SO much fun and I really enjoyed it also.

Very soon after starting he found some animals and he took a liking to the chickens. We built a small house out of dirt and my son wanted to keep a chicken as a pet so we built a larger house and started filling the basement with chickens. A trader NPC came by and I killed him and took his ropes, and then used those to catch two chickens and lure them into the basement. We fed them seeds to spawn baby chickens, and after they laid eggs we hatched them. Ultimately we had around 15 chickens in the basement. While I was gathering resources to make the house bigger my son kept going back to the basement to look at the chickens (lol). He was so happy.

I gathered wood and sand and began to make a large wooden structure with glass windows which connected to our original dirt home and would serve as a place for the chickens to wander free without getting loose. Unfortunately an explosion caused by a creeper blew a hole into the side of our house and all but two of the chickens escaped. It was a little disappointing, but it was also very funny to witness all of the chickens running away as we tried to quickly patch up the hole in the wall. My second son (who is 3, nearly 4 yeas old) also wanted to play so I let him try it out a bit also. My wife and I used to play before my eldest son was born, and of course she' interested again now.

Perhaps it's time to buy some more controllers so that we can all play together.