itapun

I tried my hand at bookbinding

Years ago I stumbled upon some tutorial videos on bookbinding and I thought it looked like fun but I never gave it a try. I love stationary and it seems like the type of hobby that would be very fitting for me but I never tried it out. My wife has a book with stab binding (Japanese style), and the quality is very nice. Recently I was thinking that I want some notebooks with this style of binding, so why not make my own?

I purchased a screw punch, sewing needles, some washi paper, and waxed thread. And after a little bit of work, I have a notebook. Not bad for a first attempt! I really like this, it was fun to make and it's kind of relaxing.

The only question that remains is what to use it for! I like to keep a notebook for writing down hints and notes when playing retro games, so perhaps I will use it for something like that. A user on /vr/ posted a while back about how they have notebooks where they draw pictures and write down strategies for all of the games that they play. I love that idea; perhaps I will do the same using this notebook.

book binding