itapun

I can't believe I almost threw this away

monitor

A few years back I bought a used PC for $100 and it came with this old 4:3(?) LCD monitor. I've never used it, it has been sitting in my closet for the past few years and recently I was thinking about throwing it out but I didn't because I learned that you have to pay a fee for disposing monitors in my city and I was too lazy to deal with that. So it has been sitting in my spare room for the past few months as I kept pushing it off out of sheer laziness.

This week I start playing ToHeart2, an old visual novel from 20 years ago. The game displays in 4:3 mode and the only visual options available are windowed mode with an extremely tiny window that can't be resized, and full screen mode but the game is low-res so it looks awful when blown up on my 1440p monitor. Seeing the PC in the background of the main characters bedroom reminded me that I have this monitor so I decided to test it out and damn this looks great. This might just become my dedicated monitor for classic PC games. I found the specs listing online and apparently this display can handle up to 75hz, so in addition to visual novels this might also become my new go-display for the MiSTer FPGA.

I can't believe I almost threw this away!

Did you like this post? Reply by email, I would love to hear your thoughts!