itapun

English is a very religious language

I never really thought about it while growing up because I was raised in a religious family anyway and it's just how I was used to people talking, but at this point I've been living in Japan for several years and I often notice that very normal phrases take on a religious persona when translated to English. For example we have this word yokatta which literally translates as "it was good", but if you were to translate it normally to English as it's used than it would come out as "thank God". Or we have this other word kotoka which would be translated as "God knows" like "God only knows how bored I am" (なんて暇なことか). Also a lot of words in English are shortened versions of old phrases with religious significance like "Goodbye" coming from "God be with ye", and a lot of set phrases or common expressions in English that people use all the time come straight from the Bible like "a drop in the bucket", "go the extra mile", "by the skin of your teeth", "the root of the matter", "a labor of love", "scapegoat", "broken heart", "eye for an eye", "rise and shine", "fall by the wayside", or "a wolf in sheep's clothing"

I'm not suggesting that it's a bad thing (and I don't think it is), and Japanese has a lot of similar words or phrases which come from a religious origin too. It's just kinda weird to notice in retrospect how in English-speaking countries everything is experienced through a Judeo-Christian lens, even if you're an atheist.

Maybe that's why Western society and Japanese society are so different. Or partly why, anyway.